Ewans 10 Favourite Films

Image result for films

Where would we be without film? Probably dead. Died of boredom. But seriously, where would we be? Film is one of the most important medias of our time. I love watching films, I don’t review them though. Not anymore anyway. But I thought it necessary to count down my ten favourite films, of all time. These are my opinions. If you think a film on here is shit, then rightly so, just wait until we get to the last few films.

Back to the Future III

Image result for back to the future 3

Release date: 1990
Cast: Michael J. Fox, Christopher Lloyd, Thomas F. Wilson
iMDB Rating: 7.4/10

The final film in a trilogy of three, we’ll talk about those two films later. Back to the Future III was a great ending to Marty McFly and Doc. Brown’s journey into the future and back to the past. Quite possibly one of the most loved and iconic series of its generation, Back to the Future offers so much. The final film ties all the loose ends together and makes a lovely cinematic experience for everyone to enjoy.

Toy Story

Image result for toy story

Release date: 1995
Cast: Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Don Rickles, R. Lee Ermey, Erik von Detten
iMDB Rating: 8.3

This film formed my childhood. It sort of has to be on the list for that reason alone. Pixar took a risk by making this film as animated children films were on the way out. That risk paid off, and they created one of the most beloved series of all time. An all star casting line up made sure that this film was a critical and monetary success. It truly encapsulates my childhood so well, honestly everyone has seen this film by now. If not, then you really are missing out.

Back to the Future II

Image result for back to the future 2

Release date: 1989
Cast: Michael J. Fox, Christopher Lloyd, Thomas F. Wilson, Lea Thompson and 8 Year Old Elijah Wood
iMDB Rating: 7.8

Back to the Future 2 is the one that confuses the hell out of me, as proven in my article “Multiple DeLoreans“. But that’s why it’s so good. I absolutely adore this film because it made my brain hurt. Obviously don’t watch this film if you’re thick, but I can’t recommend it enough if you have a functioning brain. Sorry Michael Schumacher.

Ratatouille

Image result for ratatouille poster

Release date: 2007
Cast: Patton Oswalt, Ian Holm, Lou Romano, Brad Garrett, Janeane Garofalo
iMDB Rating: 8/10

Another animated film now and for good reason. I loved this film, I still do. A brilliant plot that tied in perfectly with the humour and character ambitions, the film did so much in an hour and a half (ish). Only downside is every time I watch this film it makes me feel hungry, same for Gordon Ramsay’s Kitchen Nightmares. Not sure why, maybe I’m just fat.

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

Image result for willy wonka and the chocolate factory poster

Release date: 1971
Cast: Gene Wilder, Jack Albertson, Peter Ostrum, Roy Kinnear, Julie Dawn Cole
iMDB Rating: 7.8

The old one. Not the new one you freak. Why the hell would I like the new one? The old one has charm, good music, a great cast and quite clearly the best Wonka performance we’ve ever seen in the form of the dearly missed Gene Wilder. At least he out lived all the Oompa-Loompas.

Back to the Future

Image result for back to the future

Release date: 1985
Cast: Michael J. Fox, Christopher Lloyd, Thomas F. Wilson, Crispin Glover, Lea Thompson
iMDB Rating: 8.5

And now to wrap up the Back to the Future trilogy, the first film in the series. Clearly the best, full of action, adventure, comedy, everything blends so perfectly together and I loved every second of it, apart from the bit with the incest. Which is a lot of the film unsurpsingly. Guess you have to sell those tickets somehow.

Shaun of the Dead

Image result for shaun of the dead logo

Release date: 2004
Cast: Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, Dylan Moran, Kate Ashfield, Penelope Wilton
iMDB Rating: 8/10

The best zombie horror comedy I’ve ever seen and an instant classic in my eyes. Some beautiful unique comedy from some of my favourite actors and director. If you haven’t seen this film then it’s an absolute must see.

Guest House Paradiso

Release date: 1999
Cast: Rik Mayall, Ade Edmondson, Simon Pegg, Bill Nighy, Kate Ashfield, Vincent Cassel
iMDB Rating: 6.1/10

Bit of an odd choice for number three, but hear me out on this. If you’re a fan of the TV Show Bottom, odds are you’ll like this. Maybe it’s because I’m a huge fan of Rik and Ade, but this movie perfectly encapsulates their slapstick essence. A lack of focus on the plot sort of helps out in the long run and it’s basically just the very best of Rik and Ade condensed down to 90 minutes.

Wish I Was Here

Image result for wish i was here

Release date: 2014
Cast: Zach Braff, Kate Hudson, Mandy Patinkin, Joey King, Josh Gad
iMDB Rating: 6.7/10

Nothing like a feel good movie to begin wrapping the list up. A sort of comedy but more focused on the spiritual adventure of life. Braff crowdfunded the movie and thank God it was a success. The film is fantastic, it’s actually the only film on the list that’s made me cry. Not even Toy Story managed that, so well done Braff, you made me cry like the big manchild I am.

Honourable Mentions:

Look Who’s Back (Hitler is transported to present day with obviously hilarious consequences)
Toy Story 2 (It’s fantastic, but not as good as the first, same goes for the third one, even when it made me cry)
The Harry Potter Franchise (Loved the books, loved the movies, everything perfect but it was beaten by these 10)
Monty Python Franchise (Slapstick sketches are my favourite, all four of the films were amazing)
Guardians of the Galaxy (One of the very few Marvel films I’ve seen and it was absolutely fantastic, mainly because of the music, and Batista, and Chris Pratt)

Hot Fuzz

Image result for hot fuzz

Release date: 2007
Cast: Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, Olivia Colman, Bill Bailey, Jim Broadbent
iMDB Rating: 7.9/10

Yes, that’s right. My favourite film of all time is Hot Fuzz. I saw this film when it was released, so I was seven. Most of the comedy in it probably went over my head when I was seven, but a few years back I got it on the Cornetto Trilogy, I watched it again. From that point on it’s been my favourite film of all time. Hilarious laugh a second comedy, along with an intriguing plot and just overall it’s amazing.

Go and watch these films.

Go away.

Leave a Reply

