The Achievement Hunters Guide Part 3: Different Methods of Achievement Hunting

 

There’s a number of ways to hunt achievements. You may find some are more efficient than others. Whatever you choose, as long as you’re gaining achievements then it’s working. I’m going to run you through some of the methods I use for achievement hunting, you can give them a go and see which one works best for you

Bean Dive

The Bean Dive is something I haven’t shut up about for quite some time now and it’s something that you can do any time on TrueAchievements. Now what it does is allows you a way to keep track of your backlog and get through the games that you probably wouldn’t if it wasn’t for the Dive.

Primarily, you’re supposed to get one achievement in every game you have no achievements in to bring down your completion percentage and use that as an incentive to earn more achievements, to increase your percentage. It was useful for me because I started playing games that if it wasn’t for the Bean Dive, I wouldn’t have started or finished.

Easy Achievements

Another thing on TrueAchievements is the “Easy Achievements” tab. It’s self explanatory, it gives you a list of every game you’ve played and all the achievements and ranks each individual achievement in order of the easiest to the most difficult. It’s extremely handy if you want to rack up some really easy gamerscore and I’ve not had the chance to use it but it seems like a very good way to gain some gamerscore.

That image above probably explains it better than I can, it’ll show you the game, the value of the achievement and it’s ratio, which is basically how easy it is to achieve.

Completionists

I don’t know if I’m a completionist or not to be honest. If a game is easy to complete then I will at some point complete it. I don’t usually go out of my way to get the grindy achievements though, however I’ve started to do that. For example my time with Smackdown vs. Raw 2007 is almost over, all I have to do now is complete all the challenges and smack up the entire roster, twice.

Completing games does look good. I mean, I completed Wolfenstein: The New Order. Twice. There are many games that are very easy to complete, mainly movie tie in games. Some games are impossible to complete due to broken achievements or inactive servers. In some cases, achievements in games take time to unlock or are a challenge, it’s completely up to you if you want to go complete games, more often than not I do, if I’m playing a game solely for achievements then I’ll complete it. It looks good to have a full 1000G in a game and then I can brag to all the people that care, which is nobody.

ID@Xbox

This is fairly new. ID@Xbox is the new way that indie games can get onto the Xbox One market. The ID@Xbox games offer easy, 1000G and more often than not the games are extremely short. Examples include Factotum 90, Cubot and Level 22. If you have an Xbox One then I highly suggest you sink some money into the ID@Xbox games, there’s no reason not to and it’s a very easy way to pick up an easy 1000G in no time at all.

Movie Tie Ins

Along with genuinely good indie games, you can play genuinely bad movie tie ins. There are one or two movie tie in games that aren’t too good for achievements, an example of this being 007: Quantum of Solace, but that’s primarily because of the online achievements. As for a lot of children type movies like Cars, Toy Story 3, Happy Feet Two and Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs, they all offer up an easy 1000G.

No matter what game you play, you probably wont enjoy it if you go for the completion. But when you do eventually complete a game it’s so satisfying.

Leave a Reply

