5 Games I Hate that Everybody Else Loves

The very first post I wrote for Updownright.com was the “5 Games I Like that Everybody Else Hates” and I thought it fitting that I finish the series off by talking about the games that I hate that you all love. Please, don’t kill me. These are all my opinions. If you like these games (or series) then good on you, well done, nice one. If you hate these games like I do, well, you’re special in my eyes.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Get your pitchforks ready, it only gets worse from here. Yes the “critically acclaimed” terrorism them up shooter Modern Warfare 2 failed to impress me when I first played it. The campaign was lack luster, failing to expand on the already perfect Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, after World at War, (phenomenal game also), I had high hopes for this one.

I did play it a lot when it came out, but I was young and a bit thick. So I went back and played it recently, never before have I been so underwhelmed by a game in my entire life. The special ops game mode that the game added wasn’t really anything special, oh god that was a good one. Unlike special ops, which required you and a friend to play through a number of minigame esq levels for 3 gold stars. Some of those missions being the training course from the first level of the game but for two people and one where one lucky person gets to man an AC1-30 and the unlucky sod gets to run around a field from that one level in Cod:4.

Don’t even get me started on the multiplayer, it definitely pushed the boat out a bit more for multiplayer. By a bit I mean a lot, so we can blame it as one of the main reasons we now have Snoop Dogg voice packs for £12.99 nowadays.

Titanfall

Oh Titanfall. I really did try to like this one, I actually tried. I played it multiple times, some times I liked it, other times I hated it. The impression it left all round after these sessions was a resounding “meh”. When I was strapped for hard drive space this was the first game I un-installed, and that was when I had D4: Dark Dreams Don’t Die installed, so if I thought Titanfall was a bit worse than that pile of shit, Christ.

The multiplayer only game has been quite the mystery to me. Especially moreso when they add a story. A single player would’ve worked great, like the next-gen version of Chromehounds, but it was not to be. Instead it’s a multiplayer only game that tries to incorporate a story. But as the maps are random and the story progresses no matter which team wins, it makes for a jumbled mess of a story. I know people won’t be playing this game for the story, but it’s clear that if they put a story into the game they wanted at least someone to pay attention to it. And I did. And it’s shit.

The class system was borderline Call of Duty and I found no use in changing out the weapons, along with the burn cards which I completely forgot about because they’re about as useful as building a boat out of water. The game seems to have been made around the idea of “Titans first, everything else later”, which is fine, you just have to include the rest of the fun part of the game, I’ll just presume they forgot.

Borderlands

Cell shaded graphics and fast paced FPS games just don’t do good things to my eyes. Now I don’t just mean the first Borderlands game, I mean the entire series. I’m sure it’s fairly fun with friends, but it hurts my eyes. I’m not saying the game looks bad, cell shaded graphics are awesome, but it’s too fast paced for me to play and it’s the only game that has the reward of giving me a headache and making me genuinely ill. So thanks for that Borderlands.

The game is an open world RPG type game. To be honest if I’m going to play an RPG that’s open world then I’m going to play something by Bethesda. Now props to 2K for trying, but it just didn’t capture my attention. I played a good chunk of Borderlands with Joseph a few months ago, I think it captured his attention, but then again so can a piece of string and a spoon.

As for the actual gameplay and humour? Yeah, it’s fine. I liked it when we were introduced to a character it would give us a little caption that was a 50/50 chance of being chuckle worthy or facepalm to the kidneys with a knife worthy. Also, why is the big guy always “big guns ‘n’ shit”? I would’ve loved it if the big beefy guy that looks like the apocalypse version of John Cena was the stealthy one.

Dead Island

 

Now, Dead Island was made by the same people who made Dying Light. I loved Dying Light, it’s a large open world space full of zombies where you craft things to stay alive and everyone on the island is a B-List actor. Dead Island, well, I honestly can’t remember much of this game. I was going to go back and play it to see what I didn’t like about it, but I’ll just go from memory because I don’t give enough of a shit to put it in my Xbox again.

I think it was mainly due to the hype that made this game explode. I remember it being glitchy and sub par, but somehow it garnered a lot of user acclaim. Other than the trailer that had nothing to do with the game, I didn’t play it until Dead Island Riptide had been out for a few years. I have a copy of Riptide, it’s been in my Xbox once, so I could check it worked.

That’s my main problem with the series, why play Dead Island when you can play Dead Rising. Or Dying Light, the companies better game. Hell, there’s so many better co-op zombie games. Dead Rising 2, Dying Light, the Left 4 Dead series, Resident Evil 6 I just don’t get why someone would want to play this when it’s unpolished and pretty much broken.

Hell, but what do I know, it’s getting another sequel, that’ll be the fourth game in the series then.

Payday 2

Well if I wasn’t already unpopular enough, here’s the final nail in the coffin. Payday 2 is a buggy mess. That is literally what it is. I’m sorry, but even if you’re a fan of the game, you must know deep down that it’s a buggy game with ethically and morally dead developers who will stop at nothing to make a bit of extra cash that they don’t need because Payday 2 is more popular than Jesus H. Corbett.

The amount of DLC is absurd, the developers clearly only want enough money to buy so many swimming pools that England becomes an impoverished nation and we all have to bow down to the Overkill Overlords. Also, the fact that they released the “Crimewave Edition” which was basically an Xbox One and PS4 release that included all the DLC is now redundant seeing as though they release a £4.99 DLC pack every week on Steam. Here’s hoping they do a DLC disc, it’ll probably take up about 50GB.

I understand the appeal, I don’t understand why the execution was critically acclaimed.

Speaking of executions, mine will be taking place a day after this article is released, be sure to pick up your pitchforks and flaming torches from the stands outside the stadium.

One thought on “5 Games I Hate that Everybody Else Loves

Leave a Reply

