Gaming Backlog’s are going to be the end of me

I spent the day organizing my games today, what I noticed is that I haven’t played near enough of them. I’ve maybe played a good hundred or so out of the eight hundred I currently have in my possession. So how am I going to get out of this one?

Quite simple really. I wont. I seem to have dug myself into a hole big enough to never escape from. Seven hundred or so games that have never been played is a hellish amount and I might never be able to complete all of them. I’ll give it a damn good go though.

I’ve compiled a spreadsheet of my Xbox One, Xbox 360 and Original Xbox games (currently debating on whether or not to include handhelds, GameCube and N64) and using a Nerdist article I found, I’m going to keep myself on track. Now I’ve got pretty high hopes that this will work, mainly considering the fact that I am an abnormally large fan of lists and organisation. The article mentioned rewarding myself for completing a certain number of games and that hopefully keeps me going longer than I expect myself to.

However one problem I’m going to have is not having the mental capacity to stop myself from buying more games that are solely achievement related, so this is where my rewards scheme comes in. Every five games I complete, I can buy one or two games that are either achievement heavy or two games that I want to play. That should hopefully allow me to complete games at a steady pace while at the same time allowing me to buy newer games that I may want to play (for both achievements and for fun).

I can’t see a downside to this as of now, but it’ll mean one thing will happen.

I’m going to have to buy more games to keep my backlog so huge.

That sounds ridiculous, that’s because it is, but for whatever reason I pride myself on owning games, not playing them. Obviously that is very stupid, but for some reason I just can’t bring myself to play games for fun, especially retro ones. I’ve never played any of the Legend of Zelda games, the Metroid series has been lost to me and I’ve missed out on the story of Max Payne, all because I can’t be bothered to play them.

Maybe it’s because I only play games for achievements and reviews nowadays? If a game is fun then sure, I’ll play it, so long as it has achievements that are obtainable. Take Dying Light for example, I’m loving my time with that game, I’m only 50% of the way through as of now and the achievements are coming in at a very steady pace, with an easy 100G every time I play it for a few hours with Joseph.

I did recently complete CSI: Hard Evidence and that was solely for achievements, there’s extremely few games that I playthrough just for the story. The last time I did that was probably for Mass Effect, and I still haven’t finished that.

But back to the subject at hand, why is this backlog going to be the death of me? Well, I’ve got that many games to playthrough I doubt I’ll manage it. If I can make a 50 game dent in this backlog I’d be happy.

By then I’ll have probably bought another 100 games though…

Leave a Reply

