The more personal side of things

I’ve already done two of these, the first one was about games and then the second one was about politics, so I thought the best thing to do would be a more personal article, so you can get to know a bit more about me. It’s definitely not because I didn’t know what to write this week either, so you can get that idea out of your head, or firmly implant it as the sole reason I’m doing this, it’s your choice.

Now on my blog on Blogger, I did two posts doing a TMI thing, I never want to do those again because I think at this point in time, if I did one of those not only would I lose my credibility but also lose my rights to access the internet, electric and my arms but I also found it very tacky and a bit, well, naff. It was one of the highest viewed posts I made on that blog for some time for whatever reason, God knows why, it was bloody awful.

So instead of doing a series of set questions that eventually drive me mad, I’m going to do a smaller series of questions that I’ve asked myself in my head because that’s the type of things you’ll probably want to know about me.

1. What consoles do you own?

Great start, thanks for asking that question whoever you are, I have quite a few consoles, I’m not saying I’m the Mac Daddy of consoles, but here’s a list of the ones I do own:

  • Xbox One
  • Xbox 360
  • Original Xbox
  • Playstation 4
  • Wii U
  • Wii
  • GameCube
  • Nintendo 64
  • Gaming Laptop
  • PSP
  • DS
  • 3DS
  • Gameboy Advance SP
  • Gameboy Colour

I think that’s all the ones I have, it’s been a while since I last updated my game collection, here’s a spoiler for next Wednesday, that’s what I’m doing then.

2. What’s your favourite console and game of all time?

Now most would probably think my favourite console is the Xbox 360, I mean, I’ve had an Xbox 360 ever since they were first released, but in actual fact, my favourite console is the GameCube. One of the major reasons for this is that it was literally the entirety of my childhood, so many hours spent playing Mario Party 5 and Mario Kart: Double Dash. Ironically my favourite game of all time is on the PSP, the Metal Slug Anthology. I know it’s a collection of games so if I had to pick one it’d be Metal Slug 3, which I’ve also got on Steam and Xbox.

3. Has reviewing and blogging about games taken its toll on you?

Definitely. If it didn’t change how I played games or take a toll on me whatsoever then it wouldn’t be enjoyable to read. The thing about me is that I try to incorporate some form of humour into every article I write, so it’s not only sort of funny but also informative. It’s difficult to get the balance between the two sometimes so that’s why I have some articles I feel are better than others, a prime example of this is the post I did last week about politics, I absolutely loved writing that post and my friends seemed to enjoy it to, we can compare that with the early days of my writing wherein I did four reviews of four different Call of Duty games in a month. I didn’t have anything to say about them and it was four extremely poor articles.

4. Would you ever go back to using Blogger?

Absolutely not. The thing about WordPress is that it has a lot more customization that comes with it. On Blogger, you couldn’t change the font, images were hard to fit in correctly and it was just an overall poor experience. So if you do want to start-up your own blog, WordPress is definitely the right place to start.

5. What’s the worst game you’ve ever played?

That’s actually quite a difficult question to answer. I play a lot of horrible games like High School Musical 3 Senior Year Dance!, Jumper, a bunch more movie tie in games and then other games like Call of Juarez: The Cartel and Alone in the Dark. But honestly the worst game I’ve ever played in my entire life has definitely got to be WWE 2K15 on the Xbox One. It’s definitely a weird choice, I understand that, but 2K Games don’t seem to know what they’re doing with the franchise and thought that the best way to go forwards was to make the wrestling portion of the game into a match of rock, paper, scissors. Needless to say, that wasn’t the best idea.

6. So you hate 2K Games and WWE?

No way, I adore 2K Games and WWE. 2K Games have been responsible for so many good franchises, such as the re-boot of XCOM and the Borderlands series, along with the WWE being a pretty major part of my childhood when I was younger, not so much a fan of it now but it’s still something I enjoyed. I don’t know how you got the idea that I hated either of them, is it because of the last question?

7. Yes

It appears the tables have turned now, I’m the one asking the questions now aren’t I?

8. It seems like it

Can I stop now? We’re just past 900 words and at this point I’m not sure if people care or not about this joke.

One thought on “The more personal side of things

Leave a Reply

