An Hour With: Codename Cure

See that image above? No, I didn’t get my grandparents dog to make that, it’s the logo for the game I played over the weekend. Codename CURE, a free to play, early access zombie game, which are becoming quite a common sight on the Steam Store right now. Go see the logo on Steam because I kid you not I’m not making this up. I haven’t seen this type of master class editing since Big Rigs: Over the Road Racing.

Diving right into the game, you’ll notice it was made on the handy-dandy “Source Engine”, not a problem, some extremely amazing F2P games are made on that engine, such as the F2P, Zombie game No More Room in Hell. Keep note of that game, I’ll be comparing the two frequently throughout. I absolutely adore zombie games, from your Resident Evils to your Dead Risings and Left 4 Dead 2’s and especially No More Room in Hell. It gave the old, tatty, overdone genre just what it needed. A genuinely frightening and tense game that is at the same time a fun game to play with friends and strangers alike. Not Codename Cure though.

So, gamemode wise in this game, there is one gamemode, which is run to a bomb site, plant a bomb and escape. Think of “Zombie Panic Source” meets “Counter: Strike”, because that is literally what this game is. The game uses a lot of Half Life 2 and CS:S models for the zombies and player characters. There’s also a class system extremely similar to that of Counter Strike: Source’s layout of it all. (i.e instead of picking a different coloured terrorist, the one you pick in this game is like picking a class on Call of Duty).

Codename Cure, put simply, doesn’t sound like a good game. However play it and you’ll find it moderately enjoyable. I’m not saying you could sink hundreds upon hundreds of hours into this game, God no, it’s not that good. However it’s good with friends and it’ll keep you entertained for a good three or four hours. Now, let’s take a quick look at the other, F2P, not in early access zombie game on Steam. It’s honestly one of the best games I’ve played in a very long time. It’s suspenseful, forces you to work as a team and it’s got replay value. It actually captivated my attention quite quickly and I’ve enjoyed every second of gameplay.

I don’t think it’s fair to compare Codename Cure to No More Room in Hell because No More Room in Hell will win every single time. But does Codename Cure do anything good? Well, I mean, it can accidentally make tense moments. We had 30 Seconds on the timer to get to the helicopter and we had to run down a corridor, down a flight of stairs and through a yard with a load of crates in it. What happened is I shot my team-mates as friendly fire was on, to slow them down. The zombies went for those team-mates, I got to the helicopter, made it to safety and got myself a Steam Achievement which are about as useful as a chocolate teapot.

A similar experience was had on No More Room in Hell, we had to set the train off and the only way to do that was to pull a lever. Which was “guarded” by a large crowd of zombies. I hopped off of the train, hitting a few zombies as I barged through them, made it to the lever and pulled it. I was completely surrounded by zombies at that point, luckily I had a plan! I shot myself in the head. Also getting me a Steam Achievement, which, like I said, are as useful as a chocolate teapot. What you may notice is that NMRiH (No More Room in Hell) didn’t need a time limit to create suspense, whereas Codename Cure does.

Zombie games should have moments of suspense or just downright (heh, more like updownright) awesome moments. Codename Cure tries to do this but just fails completely fails at doing so. If you want some stupid fun with an awfully poor zombie game that will entertain you for a few hours then play Codename Cure. However if you want an extremely fun, teamwork oriented, sophisticated game that can provide you hundreds upon hundreds of fun, then play No More Room in Hell.

Either that or you can ignore the past 741 words and just buy a copy of Left 4 Dead 2.

Leave a Reply

